The Intern Experience: Day 16 (Downtown Denver)

So today we went and took what we’ve been learning to the streets. As a team, the students and some of the staff headed down to downtown Denver in order to 1.) see people 2.) stop 3.) and spend time with people in order to share Christ with them. Fear not, my friends; no tracks were handed out, no soapboxes were stood upon, and no “The end is near” signs were made ;). We went with a singular purpose; to love on the people of Colorado’s most awesome city in the best way we knew how.

The 28 person team were split up into groups of three, were given a map of their boundaries, and then let loose around downtown Denver. I could write a small novel of the stories they shared during our debriefing time, but since you probably don’t have the attention span to read all of them and I don’t have the focus to write it all, I’ll just share about my night.

My night consisted of numerous small adventures, but here are the main stories I’d like to share about:

  1. “The Triangle”
  2. “Ali”
  3. “Accidentally famous”

Image

“The Triangle”

In order to give you an idea of what “The Triangle” is, here are a few quotes taken from the Denver Post and several people we talked to about it.

  • “[The Triangle is the hub for] the homeless, addicted, and struggling people of the Denver area. . . Triangle park has long been a place for homeless to gather, drunks to sleep off a hangover, and drug deals.” – The Denver Post
  • “The ‘skid row’ of Denver” – The self-proclaimed Mayor of the area
  • “People get shot, stabbed, and molested daily in the Triangle” – Denver Resident
  • “Don’t go to the Triangle. People like you won’t made it out alive” – Colorado Resident
  • Do you know where the hell you are?” – Man in the Triangle
  • “Cops don’t even go to The Triangle. Only Christians do.” – Rachel Reed from KBM

Now I specifically noted that the students were given a map of their boundaries. The interns…not so much. haha. So naturally, Jon Stegenga and I knew where we were headed as soon as we got off the bus.

We hid all of our valuables (which consisted of a digital camera and a pack of gum for me) in a hidden pouch in our book bags, prayed, and kept praying as we walked all the way from the buzzing Chalk-Art festival on 15th street to the Triangle on 23rd.

Jon and I finally reached the Triangle and stopped and prayed. It was one of those prayers where part of us didn’t want to say “amen,” because we knew it would mean that we would have to start heading over to the scene beside us.

The only other things I’ve ever seen that I could compare to this are the streets of Haiti. Homeless men and women were lined up and down the street next to the Denver Rescue mission. Some stood and talked, some shifted from person to person asking for a cigarette, some just decided to pee on a telephone pole in front of everyone, and some slept along the walls of the buildings while using a broken down cardboard box for shade. A screamo-death metal band was playing in the building next to the Rescue Mission, and in order to hear someone else in conversation, one nearly had to scream. This was the scene that was set for Jon and I as we prayerfully asked God to guide our steps.

Image

It was laundry day, so naturally, I was wearing the button up and khakis that were the lone survivors of my “clean” pile. I quickly realized that I stood out like a sore thumb as everyone who walked by looked at me like I didn’t belong. Stegenga, on the other hand… 😉

Anyways.

Neither of us felt lead during our prayers to do anything other than to stand, pray, and wait for God to bring someone to us. Now we found out that when two white guys with decent clothes on go to the Triangle, stand, and wait…you don’t have to seek out people. People will find you. Well. Drug dealers will find you.

That is how we met Earl. (I don’t have a picture of Earl, but if you feel comfortable enough to go find him in the triangle, pull out your camera, and ask him for a picture, you go right ahead.)

The first question we always seemed to encounter with the 4-5 men we met in the Triangle was always about helping them by giving them some money. The second question was always about if we were trying to get high. When I shared (truthfully, I might add) that I did not have my wallet with me, Earl asked me what I do for a living and why I was in Denver. Here’s where it got a little interesting. I told him that I am college student from South Carolina, but I’m out in CO for the summer, and I have been hearing people’s stories and writing about them, and that Jon is a photographer. If you’d like to read some of my “writing,” check out other people’s stories with the Student Profiles, haha.

Earl didn’t want to share too much of his story, but Jon and I got to talk with him for around 10 minutes about life on the streets, his home in Nashville, and his plans for the future. Earl introduced us to everyone as they walked by. Jon and I ended up meeting a man and two prostitutes this way, but we only caught the name of one of them, “Melissa” (her street name was “Misty”). After hearing a bit of his story and plans, we got to pray for Earl and remind him that he was loved and that he is not defined by his sins, but by Jesus’ atonement for them. We encouraged him that this truth is one that frees him to live a life abounding in joy and hope. It was pretty awesome, and Earl seemed to receive it well.

Image(The aforementioned Chalk-Art Festival)

After talking with Earl, Jon and I walked to the other side of the street and prayed silently over the Denver Rescue Mission and the people outside. After a few minutes, we both felt a peace that we should start to head back downtown. We began to head that way, and what do you know, there was Earl again! Earl introduced us to two of his friends, both of whom were very cold and intimidating.

Oh yeah. Earlier, Earl had given us a heads-up about how to greet people in the “Triangle”. He said that shaking hands shows that you don’t belong, so he told us to bump elbows with people. He said that sometimes people will slip drugged or virus-ridden needles on you if you shake hands, so the elbow bump is always the way to go.

After elbow-bumping Earl’s two friends, one of them asked us if we were trying to get high, and after we graciously declined, he said “Do you know where the hell you’re at, gentlemen?” Jon said yes, I jokingly said “Well I have no clue”. We got a good laugh out of that as one of Earl’s two friends walked away. Jon kept talking to Earl’s friend as I watched his other friend go and talk to a second man. He motioned towards us and was obviously talking about us. They both turned around and started walking towards us.

In my head I was like… “Nope.”

I looked over and made a friendly suggestion during his conversation with Earl’s friend; “Jon, lets get going”
-“Why?”
“Now.”

Jon took the hint, and we turned the corner and played it cool as we sped walked outta there. The two men followed us for a bit, but once we made it to a busy street, they trailed off.

Whew. That may have been an unnecessary exit, but I don’t care to find out whether it was or not. But the point is that we showed Earl and his friends that there are people willing to go to them to share some food and love with them.

Image

“Ali”:

Above is a picture of Ali. Once we reached a busy street on our way back from the Triangle we met Ali. Ali was tripping. Hard. Brother man couldn’t even formulate sentences, yet he somehow communicated to us that he is originally from Sudan and asked us if we had some spare money and if we were looking to get high. He said “I need some money to get high, not for food or anything,” but Jon must have heard it the other way around, haha. Jon gave him a $5 and sent him into a pub to grab something to eat. Jon felt like we were supposed to wait for him to come out so we could talk with him more, so we did. He came out about two minutes later with a free cup of water. He then offered Jon his money back, but by then, it was just whatever.

When he walked out, I extended a hand (sorry Earl, I forgot the elbow bump) and said “As-salamu alaykum” (a Muslim greeting I learned from our host brother and KBM staff member, Charlie Marquis). His eyes lit up, and he responded in the same language. I understood just about as much in that language as when he spoke in english. Ali was too far gone to formulate sentences. He kept trying to take us to a drug dealer, so we just kept our message short and sweet; Jesus Loves You. He loved it, haha. He asked us to take a selfie with him. and so we did. He’s pictured above.

Image

“Accidentally Famous”

The Triangle was definitely the most noteworthy part of my night, but after we returned downtown, I checked in with some of the student groups, and then ran across this 3-piece combo. This sax player was awesome! I went and asked him what kind of sax and mouthpiece he was using and we hit it off! Their names from right to left were Jake, Nick, and Armando.

I told him that I played sax, and we talked about some of our favorite influences and gigs we’ve played. He asked my name (for like the third time) and I said “Gavin like Degraw, Potter like Harry.” He jokingly asked if I was related to Chris Potter (a famous sax player, who happens to be from SC, with whom my father shares a name) and I couldn’t resist.

Their jaws dropped. I couldn’t just let them believe that this famous sax player was my dad, so after a little laugh, I told them “‘Chris Potter’ is my dad, but he doesn’t play sax,” to which they responded “Are you kidding me?! Yes he does! And he’s awesome!” I was thinking “huh? What part of that didn’t they understand?” They had gone into fan-boy mode and after I tried again to explain it to them in vain, I had a good laugh and hit the road.

Image

After it was all said and done, the night was an amazing experience for everyone involved. A student was able to lead a man to Christ, another student gave that man his bible, students were able to feed the homeless, and to love the “least of these”

 

What a normal day.

 

-Pure Wind

 

ps. here’s an awesome shot from my brother, Jon Stegenga of the singer from the band in the low quality cell phone image above.

Image

Tags: , , , ,

About Gavin Potter

Just a guy trying to be where his feet are and live with his eyes and hands open.

Leave a comment